Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Lefkowitz Trademark Moot Court Competition

The Lefkowitz Moot Court Competition was established in 1990 by the Brand Names Education Foundation in honor of Saul Lefkowitz, a Chairman of the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office. Now sponsored by the International Trademark Association, the Competition is an annual event consisting of Regional Competitions in Atlanta, Chicago, New York, and San Francisco, and a National Competition in Washington, D.C., USA.

During the 2009-2010 academic year, Jason Koransky and Nicole Renchen won Second Best Brief in the Midwest Region and Fourth Best Brief in the Nation. The objective of the competition is to introduce law students to important issues arising in United States trademark and unfair competition law. Law students who participate in the competition have the opportunity to develop their brief writing and oral advocacy skills in a mock courtroom setting.

2018-2019 Trademark Competition Teams

Team: Bria Daily & Robert Reategui
Coach: William McGrath

2016-2017 Trademark Competition Team

Team: Mitchell Capp & Adam Ernette
Coach: William McGrath

2015-2016 Trademark Competition Team

Team: Pellumb (Paul) Hoxha & Lian Osier
Coach: William McGrath

2014-2015 Trademark Competition Team

Team: Heather Grace Hensley & RiKaleigh C. Johnson
Coach: William McGrath
Award: 1st Place (Regionals); 2nd Place (Nationals)

2013-2014 Trademark Competition Teams

Team: Alex Fawell & Timothy James Oliver
Coach: William McGrath
Award: 2nd Place (Regionals); 3rd Place, 2nd Best Oralist (Internationals)

Team: Angela Huisingh & Jonathan Soverly
Coach: Professor Benjamin Liu

2012-2013 Trademark Competition Team

Team: Ross Drath & David Salazar
Coach: William McGrath

2011-2012 Trademark Competition Team

Team: Thomas Bacon & Jennifer Bloom
Coach: William McGrath

2010-2011 Trademark Competition Team

Team: Joseph Stafford & Meghan Stokes
Coach: William McGrath