Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Frederick Douglass Moot Court Competition

This competition is sponsored by the National Black Law Students Association and examines legal issues relevant to the African-American community. Regional winners advance to the national competition.

Recent topics include the following: (1) whether the sentencing guidelines and disparity in sentences for crack and cocaine violate the Due Process clause, the Equal Protection Clause, and constitute cruel and unusual punishment; (2) whether a state university scholarship program open only to black students violates Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 by discriminating against a white student otherwise qualified for the scholarship.

During the 2011-2012 academic year, Mallory Littlejohn and Dionte Durham won Second Place at the Midwest regional round. During the 2009-2010 academic year, Sharon Cannon and Stephen Roundfield were the Regional Champions and Quarterfinalists at nationals. Additionally, Stephen Roundfield won Best Oralist at the regional competition. In 2009, Crystal Brown and Jason Cooper placed second at the regional competition and were Quarterfinalists at the national competition. In 2007, Alfred K. Murray, II and Marques Rice won first place at nationals, Rice won Best Oralist, and Murray won Honorable Mention Oralist. Also in 2007, Chiante Gibson and Damon Stewart placed second at regionals and advanced to nationals.

2016-2017 Frederick Douglass Competition Team

Team: Oluchi Ifebi & Brittany Simon
Coach: Professor Kevin Hopkins

2015-2016 Frederick Douglass Competition Team

Team: Yasemine Garmon & Jerome Wade II
Coach: Professor Kevin Hopkins & Mallory Littlejohn

2014-2015 Frederick Douglass Competition Team

Team: Esperance M. Kamuabo & JonTia A. Pegues
Coach: Joselynne Gardner
Award: 4th Place, Best Petitioner’s Brief

2013-2014 Frederick Douglass Competition Team

Team: Jason G. Beasley & Dibora L. Berhanu
Coach: Joselynne Gardner
Award: 2nd Place (Regionals)

2012-2013 Frederick Douglass Competition Team

Team: Myka V. Bell & David M. Middleton
Coach: Joselynne Gardner
Award: 1st Place (Regionals), 3rd Place (Nationals)

2011-2012 Frederick Douglass Competition Teams

Team: Dionte Durham & Mallory Littlejohn
Coach: Joselynne Gardner
Award: 2nd Place

Team: Bryttannie Mason & Lafakeria Vaughn
Coach: Joselynne Gardner